Type Here to Get Search Results !

Invictus (2009)


Invictus (2009)

"Invictus" is a biographical sports film directed by Clint Eastwood and released in 2009. The movie stars Morgan Freeman as Nelson Mandela and Matt Damon as Francois Pienaar. It is the third collaboration between Eastwood and Freeman, following "Unforgiven" (1992) and "Million Dollar Baby" (2004).

The story of "Invictus" is based on the 2008 book "Playing the Enemy: Nelson Mandela and the Game That Made a Nation" by John Carlin. It explores the events in South Africa before and during the 1995 Rugby World Cup, which played a significant role in uniting the nation. The title of the film refers to the Roman divine epithet "Invictus," which can be translated as "undefeated" or "unconquered." It is also the title of a poem by British poet William Ernest Henley, which is referenced in the film.

"Invictus" was released in the United States on December 11, 2009. The film received positive reviews from critics and was praised for its uplifting message and performances, particularly Morgan Freeman's portrayal of Nelson Mandela. It was a commercial success, grossing over $122 million worldwide.

The movie highlights Nelson Mandela's efforts to use the South African rugby team, the Springboks, as a symbol of unity and reconciliation in a country still grappling with the legacy of apartheid. It explores themes of leadership, forgiveness, and the power of sports to bridge divides.


Post a Comment

* Please Don't Spam Here. All the Comments are Reviewed by Admin.

Top Post Ad

Online music upload website

Below Post Ad